Emerging from NaNoLand…but only momentarily

Whoa I didn’t realize it had been so long since my last post. Eek.

Well, update: I’m in the middle of my first attempt at NaNoWriMo (translation: National Novel Writing Month). It’s not a script, I realize, but I am learning so much about style and characterization and plot structure–not to mention the immense freedom writing a novel provides next to a feature film script.

For those who have never heard of such a thing as a NaNoWriMo (hubs still pronounces it NaNoREEMo, sweet darling), it’s a challenge to write 50000 words of a novel in 30 days. Madness, I know. But here I sit on Day 17, 30K in and loving every second of it…especially the procrastination parts 🙂

Tonight, I found a new procrastination toy: I Write Like…

You paste a bunch of text into a little box, it analyzes your word choice and style, compares you to a famous author, and spits out a handy dandy official looking badge that says something like this:

2px solid #ddd;font:20px/1.2 Arial,sans-serif;width:380px;padding:5px; background:#F7F7F7; color:#555″>

I write like
Jane Austen

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!<!– End I Write Like Badge –>

I always knew I liked her 🙂

oooh here’s another good one:

2px solid #ddd;font:20px/1.2 Arial,sans-serif;width:380px;padding:5px; background:#F7F7F7; color:#555″>

I write like
J. D. Salinger

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!<!– End I Write Like Badge –>

Leave a Reply

