The one in which I swoon over boy bands. Yes. Boy bands.

One day I would like to see boy bands make a comeback. Really, Nick Lachey, Justin Timberlake, and Brian Littrell still hold pieces ofย  swooning little adolescent heart. So much so that I now have a Pandora station dedicated to the memory of childhood angst, my first dance, my first crush, and my first heartbreak. These guys were there for all of them.

Since initiating a personal boy band renaissance some months ago, I’ve made a few very important observations about my rekindled obsession that I randomly feel compelled to share with you:

1. The producers of *NSYNC, Backstreet Boys, 98 Degrees, BB Mak, O Town, and the like were incredibly intelligent.

Nowadays, no one–parents included–seems to care how music influences kids or how young a demographic is attracted to mainstream pop and hip-hop music. But then, producers and writers made sure both daughters and their moms were swooning over ballads like “God must have spent a little more time on you,” and “I Do.” They were romantic, cheesy, and…clean. What?! Even my super protective mommy dearest didn’t make me change the channel when Disney played *NSYNC music videos. Genius!

2. Boy bands taught me everything I know about harmony.

Okay, maybe not everything. Point of Grace may have had a little something to do with it too ๐Ÿ˜‰ But really, to this day, I can break out into an alto or tenor part every time my boss busts into a midday rendition of “I Want it That Way.” I’m proud to have taken an actual skill away from my adolescent band crushes. (But I wonder, what in the world are kids taking away from Ke$ha?!)

3. Boy band pop ballads are 3 minute romantic movies.

Another stellar reason every listen still has the ability to brighten my day ๐Ÿ™‚

4. I don’t remember having a favorite of the boy bands…until now.

98 Degrees has emerged the reigning victor in the boy-band-king-of-my-heart pageant. Not only because Nick Lachey vaguely resembles my husband (no kidding) but because their songs are written so much better.

Case in point, “The Hardest Thing”:

I know that we’ll meet again
Fate has a place and time
So you can get on with your life
I’ve got to be cruel to be kind

Like Dr. Zhivago
All my love I’ll be sending
And you will never know cuz
There can be no happy ending

(look! a real, live literary reference!)

Or “She’s Out of My Life”:

To think for two years that she was here
And I took her for granted
I was so cavalier
Now the way that it stands
She’s out of my hands

(I didn’t even know what ‘cavalier’ meant when this song came out!)

Compare to the Backstreet Boys, “All I Have to Give”:

I don’t care if he buys you nice things
Does his gifts come from the heart?

Does he leave (does he leave) when you need him the most?
Does his friends get all your time?

And “I’ll Never Break Your Heart”:

As time goes by
You will get to know me
A little more better
Girl that’s the way love goes baby, baby

I’m sorry, I love BSB, but as a writer and editor, I just can’t listen without cringing now. Shame.

That is all. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m now listening to Nick Lachey’s “What’s Left of Me” at Nordaggios and trying to hold my karaoke impulses at bay. Inappropriate.

2 thoughts on “The one in which I swoon over boy bands. Yes. Boy bands.

  1. Ok, I know you wrote this LONG ago but I totally relate to this. I am actually going to a backstreet boys concert next week and it is gonna be awesome. I listen to my N*SYNC pandora radio now! : ) It’s interesting that you say that you liked 98 the best. I always thought there music didn’t age as well but maybe that is my bsb-n’sync fandom talking : )

    1. haha i have a boy band Pandora station too! ๐Ÿ˜€ I think at the time, I probably liked whoever was most popular, BSB or N*SYNC. But as I got a little older, I appreciated 98 more and more. Especially now that I’m pretty OCD about language, the grammatical mistakes in a couple of BSB’s songs just got to me I think haha.

      PS Thanks for commenting two months after this was published…I know I’ve had a terrible track record of keeping the blog up and this was a great reminder that it is really the guts of my online presence and needs attention! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

