The Un-Daily Blog

Wow. WordPress logged me out. That only happens when you haven’t visited the site in several days. šŸ˜¦ It’s true, this daily blog has become quite un-daily. Usually, I get quite irritated with myself for missing posts, considering the commitment I made at New Years to post every single day. But I’ve found out rather quickly that my efforts to get into a daily blogging habit are about as effective as my efforts to go to bed at the same time every night. Maybe I’m still too close to my college all-nighters (though we’re coming up on a year…holy moly!), but I’ve found both endeavors to be equally impossible.

However, the other night, as I was reading “On Writing” before dozing off (around 2am this particular night) dear Mr. King gave me the excuse I’d been looking for. He didn’t mean to, but he explained to me why my writing habits are so erratic. Allow me to share:

“…we’re actually talking about creative sleep. Like your bedroom, your writing room should be private, a place where you go to dream. Your schedule–in at about the same time every day, out when your thousand words are on paper or disk–exists in order to habituate yourself, to make yourself ready to dream just as you make yourself ready to sleep by going to bed at roughly the same time each night and following the same ritual as you go. In both writing and sleeping, we learn to be physically still at the same time we are encouraging our minds to unlock from the humdrum rational thinking of our daytime lives. And as your mind and body grow accustomed to a certain amount of sleep each night–six hours, seven, maybe the recommended eight–so can you train your waking mind to sleep creatively and work out the vividly imagined waking dreams which are successful works of fiction.”

So, the reverse must be true…if you have no sleeping “habits,” it is rather difficult to establish waking habits, right? Aye, me!

I write as I sleep…whenever I have to. I love sleeping and I love writing, yet both acts are usually back-burner elements of life next to things like job 1, job 2, keeping house, working out, spending time with hubs, and social engagements. All of these other things have to do with other people. My life, as most do, revolves around others. So here I am faced with a choice: either learn to be more selfish and deliberate with my time or just accept that writing will come as sleeping does…whenever it comes. At the moment, both choices seem to carry more cost than appeal. Then again, I’m kind of a have-your-cake-and-eat-it-too kind of dreamer, if you hadn’t noticed. Thoughts? Suggestions?

Leave a Reply

