It’s Award Nomination Week! :)

The Oscars are coming! The Oscars are coming! (Cue Paul Revere music)

As I mentioned last week, it’s award show season in the film industry and the Superbowl of award shows is close at hand. Sunday, February 27th, I’ll be glued to a TV somewhere, checking off my predictions one by one as the Oscars are awarded…I’m actually pretty good at it. I won a prize last year.

But tomorrow is pregame baby!  Bright and early (5:30amPST), the Oscar nominations will be announced. I’ll be busy carting kids to daycare, but that’s what USAToday.com is for. I mean, most of the nominations will be no big secret, as the front-runners have already collected a few statues at the Golden Globes, but I’m hoping for a few surprises. Honestly, I’d really love to see Hailee Steinfeld bag Best Actress for her work in True Grit. She was just brilliant.

If you’re anxious like me and can’t wait a few hours for the nominations, check out moviefone’s predictions here. Pretty spot-on if you ask me.

In other (and possibly more fun) award news, another set of nominations was made just this morning. The 2011 Razzie Awards. 🙂

The night before the Oscars, a whole different set of envelopes will be opened, except no one will want their names read aloud from them. The Razzie Awards are Hollywood’s best parody, giving recognition to the year’s absolute worst cinematic endeavors. The full list of horrible “cinematic sins” can be read here.

This year’s nominees are no surprise either. There are only 10 categories, but The Last Airbender and Twilight Eclipse were nominated for 9. Sex and the City 2 bagged 7 nominations. That’s an impressive list of failures. I didn’t even bother with Sex and the City 2, but I saw 10 minutes and 20 minutes of Airbender and Eclipse, respectively.

Airbender was a redbox buy (just $1, mind you) over Thanksgiving in New York. We started it with friends and not one of us could tolerate the terrible acting, writing, and editing in the first 10 minutes. I think the only reason the two main actors weren’t nominated for Razzies is their age. Can’t go damaging pre-adolescent psyche. And given M. Night Shyamalan’s history, we had little hope it would get better. We turned it off before the first real plot twist.

Our Eclipse experience wasn’t much better. Tamer and I arrived at the theater on a whim, not knowing what was playing. We decided on Knight and Day (haha) but we were half an hour early. So we slipped into the beginning of Eclipse. We stood in the back to make a quick exit and it’s a good thing too–we laughed through every minute we saw. Not like “haha this is a joke of a movie” laughter, like tears in our eyes, stifle the wheezing, fold in half to keep from convulsing, laughter. It was really that corny. And I like corn.

So mark your calendars everybody, February 26 and 27 is showbiz’s biggest weekend. Anyone in Tulsa up for hosting an Oscar party? 🙂 I’ll bake. But don’t even try to beat me in predictions. It can’t be done.

Leave a Reply

