Morning Glory Review (Spoiler FREE!)

This weekend I took my friend Mel on a birthday “date.” We ate delicious sushi (which neither of our husbands will touch) and went to see a chick flick (which neither of our husbands will do). Our cinema of choice: Movies 8, cuz it’s $1.25 matinee. Our chick flick of choice: Morning Glory.

Morning Glory is one of those movies that had the potential to fly or flop in the genre. You bring in some stellar older stars, pair them with a promising young gun who’s already blazed a trail of cinematic success, and it could be magic or mayhem.

In my humble, romantic, and probably idealistic opinion, I thought it was great. Rachel McAdams’ character, though wired and a little garrulous, was endearing. She was accessible in a way that made me think at times, “whoa, that’s exactly what I would do.” She also reminded me and Mel of a dear friend of ours (you know who you are). 😉

As for Harrison Ford, through the first half of the movie, I expected his character to change somehow; that he would find some sort of personal healing through McAdams and would be back to his non-“third-worst-person-in-the-world” charm. But I finally figured out, he didn’t need fixing. The relationship between him and McAdams is so quirky and awkward, but that makes the end’s redemption so much sweeter.

One disappointment: I would have liked to see more screen time for Diane Keaton (one of my all time favs). Her penchant for physical comedy could have taken some of the “lol” scenes to all out “rofl” moments. Although seeing her in a pink tutu was priceless. 🙂

My favorite aspect of the story, since that’s what this blog is really all about, was Becky Fuller’s (McAdams) refusal to give up on her dream. I know, that’s so full of cheese a mouse could vomit, but the scene that touched me most was Becky’s conversation with her mother about her dream of being a producer when she got laid off at the New Jersey show.

“When you were 8, it was adorable, when you were 18, it was inspiring,” her mother tells her. “Now, at 28, it’s just embarrassing….Stop before it gets to heartbreaking.” (I’d like to take this moment to thank God for parents who have always been supportive of even my wildest dreams.)

While I would have burst into tears right there, Becky brushed it off and kept trucking. She worked hard, learned from her mistakes, persevered through countless setbacks, and made it to the proverbial “top” in an industry that has not historically been kind to women. Bazinga!

Now I DO realize, this is straight fiction created to elicit an emotional response, but it was done well enough that I felt inspired by her victory. Inspired to keep writing, competing, and networking. Inspired to keep looking upward. Inspired to keep digging for the story. And in my book, that’s a win for everyone.

Leave a Reply

