When I Grow Up…

Betcha got the Pussycat Dolls stuck in your head now too ๐Ÿ™‚ haha.

Every kid needs a hero. Someone to look up to, aspire to, and to help them set the bar for their success. Some pick nurses or teachers or firemen or astronauts. As we grow, we put names to them. “My mom,” “Mrs. Price,” “Uncle David,” “Neil Armstrong.”ย  When we had Career Day at elementary school, after I finally figured out that neonatal nurses didn’t just hold babies all day like I did my dolls, I decided I wanted to be a writer. I dressed up like a journalist with my slacks, blazer, and loafers and brought a clipboard with paper and a pencil on it. I took notes on it all day just to look legit and proudly advertised the gray lead smears on my hand (leftie, baby!).

If we had laptops in ’92…

Well I may be 24ish and typing my daily notes now, but I’m still that pencil-smearing, southpaw kid in many ways. Recently, I’ve put a name to my Career Day hero. That name is Nancy Meyers. I didn’t know it until a couple of months ago, but this woman is chiefly responsible for my worldview–the hopeless romantic part, at least. Here’s just a tidbit of her resume:

2009 It’s Complicated (written by)

2006 The Holiday (written by)

2003 Something’s Gotta Give (written by)
1998 The Parent Trap (screenplay)
1995 Father of the Bride Part II (screenplay)
1994 I Love Trouble (written by)

1991 Father of the Bride (screenplay)

1987 Baby Boom (written by)
1980 Private Benjamin (written by)
Who knew so much genius could fit into one psyche? I may never be nominated for Oscars or Golden Globes or WGA awards, but I want to write like Nancy Meyers. She really gets what women want. And though she has way more of an advantage than Mel Gibson by being one herself, few of us gals are actually able to capture and recreate what elicits the emotion we all experience in love and in loss. She is the one I look up to, aspire to, and the one who helps me set my bar for success as a writer. No matter what medium I end up writing in, one day, this clipboard-carrying kid is going to tell stories like her.
2 thoughts on “When I Grow Up…

  1. Haha meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee to! Thats crazy! When I was 8? I started a newpaper and started delivering it to people in my neighborhood haha. My cousins………who were my neighbors and aunts……then I started my “first novel” haha a ghost story. But I only got past the first couple of pages and i quit ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I felt stupid. self concience ๐Ÿ˜ฆ BUT THEN when I was 13 I read this book about this journalist who use to document prostitutes and I thought yes that is the job I want! haha A undercover secret writer! It happend to both of us! Yay it must be fate!!!!!!!! I think that is true! The things you really love when you are young are part of who you are and part of the way God made you!

  2. Go go go….good stuff Amanda. We’re so happy for you as we know this makes you happy! Have enjoyed the read on many of these. Love you oh lefty daughter of mine ๐Ÿ™‚ Smudge away my dear, smudge away. Dad.

Leave a Reply

