Hollywood’s portrayal of marriage (Part 2)

One of the best parts about marriage, perhaps THE greatest part, in fact, is the constant opportunity for redemption. Sure, I’ve made plenty of mistakes in my marriage so far (forgetting to collaborate before I do things, spending money I shouldn’t have, overbooking myself and making hubby pay the price) but with every mistake comes another shot at redemption. I get to forgive and be forgiven on the regular. I learn something new about my husband every day and I *know* he’s still learning too. But what happens when we stop learning? Not because there is no more to discover, but because we’ve stopped trying to learn. We’ve stopped offering redemption and started turning down opportunities to grow.

This is an element of marriage I want to address in my (future) feature film projects. Redemption is key to every hero’s story, which is why so many films about (or featuring) marriage end in redemption. Like these:

Serious Moonlight

Shall We Dance?

Julie and Julia

The Time Traveler’s Wife

You, Me, and Dupree

Notice a pattern? Romantic comedies, feel-good dramas, all-around chick flicks. Those that end in a more darkly-dramatic, less neatly-tied way often garner critical nods, news stories, and awards. Because they’re more realistic? Nope. Because they generate a deeper emotional response? Maybe. Something to ponder at least. I have a list of these to watch and will report my findings once Netflix and I have done our research:

Revolutionary Road

Blue Valentine

American Beauty

4 thoughts on “Hollywood’s portrayal of marriage (Part 2)

  1. I can relate to the duck tape photo! haha and the quote under it despite weither or not it was a title of a movie to me it is a quote to the photo and relevant to how I feel after I have felt like ducktaping my husband to the chair. haha

    1. haha. Serious Moonlight was a good movie. definitely a great story of redemption–with plenty of fun and antics along the way! and Meg Ryan is brilliant as usual šŸ™‚ it’s at RedBox or on Netflix instant if you have a chance to see it.

Leave a Reply

